

Minutes

General Membership Board Meeting

6:30 p.m. - Thursday, January 14, 2021 Third Floor Conference Room 233 Middle Street, New Bern, NC

Minutes

Executive Committee in Attendance

Jay Bender, President
Roland Best, Lenoir County
Commissioner
Jesse Dowe, Duplin County
Commissioner
Bennie Heath, Greene County
Commissioner
Jim Kohr, City of Havelock Commissioner

Steven Wiggins, Wayne County caucus Edward Riggs, Jr., 2nd Vice President Arthur Robinson, Greene County caucus Freeman Hardison, Wayne County Commissioner (by zoom)
Bill Taylor, 1st Vice President Shane Turney, Treasurer

General Membership Committee in Attendance

Dominick Spadaro, Town of Newport representative Randy Mitchell, Town of Dover Mayor Carolyn Kenyon, Town of Faison Mayor

ECC Staff om Attendance

Katie Bordeaux, Executive Director

Jenny Miller, Finance Director

Leighann Morgan, Deputy Finance

Director/Transportation Director

Heather O'Connor, AAA Director (by zoom)

January Brown, Family Caregiver

Specialist (by zoom)

- **1. Welcome, Invocation, and Call to Order –** President Bender called the meeting to order at 6:30 p.m. Invocation was given by Commissioner Kohr. Quorum was met.
- **2. Adopt Agenda** Jay Bender, President Commissioner Heath motioned to adopt the agenda, seconded by Roland Best, and motion was unanimously approved.



3. Consent Agenda – Jay Bender, President

- a. General Membership Board Minutes—June 11, 2020
- b. Financial Statement
- c. C.E.D.S. update

Commissioner Robinson motioned to approve the consent agenda, seconded by Commissioner Dowe, and motion was unanimously approved.

4. Budget & Audit Committee Report – Shane Turney, Treasurer

Treasurer Turney stated the Budget & Audit Committee met before the General Membership Board meeting to go over the check register, the complete audit, and membership dues.

5. ECC By-Laws Committee Update – Jay Bender, President

President Bender appointed the following to the ECC By-Laws Committee: Commissioner Taylor, Commissioner Mitchell, Commissioner Prescott, Commissioner Emory, Commissioner Wiggins, Mayor Kenyon, and Commissioner Robinson. The committee has not met.

6. Family Caregiver Program – January Brown, Family Caregiver Specialist

Mrs. Brown gave a presentation on the history, funding guidelines, goals, and who is
eligible for Family Caregiver Program. See explained how COVID-19 has restricted access
to family caregivers and how the region's response efforts have changed to "out of the
box thinking" to reach those caregivers in need.

7. ECRPO & DERPO Update – *Leighann Morgan, Deputy Finance Director/Transportation Director*

Ms. Morgan gave an update on the timeline for Prioritization 6.0. Dates are depending on the prioritization workgroup meeting after the quantitative scoring is complete. Projected draft list of programmed regional impact projects is to be released January 2022.

Ms. Morgan stated NC DOT is accepting grant applications to mitigate traffic deaths and injuries. The submission deadline is January 21, 2021.

A list of on-going projects was included in the agenda packet.

8. Municipal Caucus Representatives to the ECC Executive Committee - Jay Bender, President – item was tabled until after municipal election.



9. Member Comments

President Bender suggested the committee to look at pages 49-50 of the agenda packet to see the communities that are participating in the 160D and ADA compliance that ECC was awarded a grant to help towns.

Executive Director Bordeaux reported ECC has launched a media campaign that includes radio advertisement, newly added items to the website and Facebook pages. Mrs. Bordeaux talked about the newly created YouTube station where the ECC is doing a different segment for each of the programs hosted within ECC.

Executive Director stated the ECC staff received three prestigious National Awards in June 2020 with the National Association of Development Organizations Impact Awards.

Commissioner Kohr stated Commissioner Mitchell apologizes for missing the meeting.

President Bender stated the Town of Pollocksville was given a notice to proceed with the train station and have 240 days to move the structure.

10. Adjournment

Commissioner Wiggins motioned to adjourn the meeting, seconded by Commissioner Emory, and motion was unanimously approved.

lav Bender, President	Katie Bordeaux, Executive Director
Respectivity submitted by,	
Respectfully submitted by,	