Candy Bohmert TAC Chair

Katrina Marshall TCC Chair



William Taylor
TAC Vice-Chair

Kate Allen TCC Vice-Chair

January 19th, 2021 • 10:00 a.m.

Webconference via GoToMeeting due to COVID-19 concerns.

Attendance:

Katrina Marshall, Chair – City of Havelock Kelly Walker - CARTS David Rief – Town of Cedar Point Don Baumgardner – Craven County Planning Kim Maxey – New Bern MPO Mickey Anderson - ECC Randy Cantor - CCATS Franky Howard – Jones County Manager Jeff Wood – Craven Economic Development Haywood Daughtry – NCDOT Jamie Wayne – N.C. Highway Patrol Kevin Reed – Town of Pine Knoll Shores Josh Edmonson – Town of Emerald Isle Sandi Watkins – Town of Morehead City Matt Zapp – Town of Emerald Isle Jeff Cabaniss – NCDOT Division 2 Don Kirkman – Carteret Economic Dev. Jill Quattlebaum – ECC Attorney Ethan Brodgen

Kate Allen, Vice-Chair – Town of Beaufort Len White - NCDOT Division 2 Diane Hampton – NCDOT Division 2 Alan Pytcher - NCDOT Division 3 Christopher Connolly – NCDOT TPD Felicia McRee – New Bern MPO B.J. Eversole – Eastern Carolina Council Katie Bordeaux - ECC Brandi Robertson – TAC; Town of Arapahoe Leighann Morgan - ECC Bill Taylor – TAC; Town of Morehead City Michelle Eitner - Town of Atlantic Beach Zack Steffey – Town of Cape Carteret Diane Miller – Town of Oriental Stephanie Kutz – Jacksonville MPO Greg Hartman – Carteret County Planning Stephanie Ayers – N.C. State Ports Authority Shawne Southard – Town of Bogue **Brian Pownall**

TCC Meeting Minutes

Call to Order – *Katrina Marshall, TCC Chair, called the meeting to order at 10:00am. Quorum was met (17 members were required for quorum) and maintained throughout the meeting.*

- **1. Public Comment Period** *No public comments.*
- **2. Remote Legislation Information** *Jill Quattlebaum of Grady & Quattlebaum went over the requirements for a virtual meeting.*
- 3. ACTION: Approval of Minutes

Minutes of the September 25, 2020 meeting were presented for approval. Action: Chris Connolly requested an amendment to the minutes to reflect that the Craven County CTP is on hold due to COVID-19. A motion to approve the minutes from previous

Candy Bohmert TAC Chair

Katrina Marshall TCC Chair



William Taylor
TAC Vice-Chair

Kate Allen TCC Vice-Chair

meeting as amended was made by Stephanie Ayers, seconded by Don Kirkman, and approved unanimously.

4. ACTION: Election of Chair

The TCC Chair is elected at the first meeting of each calendar year. Our existing Chair was eligible for reelection.

Action: Katrina Marshall of the City of Havelock was nominated for another term as TCC Chair by Don Kirkman and seconded by Franky Howard; election was approved unanimously.

5. DERPO Staff Report

B.J. Eversole gave an update on the SPOT 6.0 schedule, as well as the current fiscal constraints that may put the current round of SPOT in jeopardy. He went over an update to the expansion of the Jacksonville MPO's boundaries to include all parts of Onslow County that are currently a part of DERPO. A major consequence of Onslow County leaving DERPO will be an increase of matching dues paid by the remaining counties, as DERPO already receives the minimum funding amount for an RPO and the local match that was paid by Onslow County will have to be redistributed to the remaining counties by population. He also made TCC members aware of an NCDOT grant program for data-driven ideas for mitigating traffic deaths and injuries; the deadline for applications is January 31. B.J. Eversole also provided an update on the remaining meeting dates for 2021.

6. NCDOT Reports

Division 2 – Len White provided an update on current STIP and other projects in Division 2; many projects remain delayed due to the NCDOT fiscal situation. Diane Hampton also gave a brief overview of Carteret County CTP status; the NCDOT TPD is creating a Traffic Demand Model (TDM) for the county.

Division 3 – Alan Pytcher provided an update on current STIP and other projects in Division 3; as in Division 2, many projects remain delayed due to the NCDOT fiscal situation.

N.C. Ferry Division – On behalf of Catherine Peele of the N.C. Ferry Division, B.J. Eversole went over several end-of-the-year updates: The Division is set to receive an additional tug for its Manns Harbor facility, and two new river-class ferry vessels are under construction in Louisiana. A new dorm facility on Ocracoke Island should soon be under construction to replace the former facility destroyed by Hurricane Dorian. The summer schedule has been prepared for 2021, and the Division continues to follow strict procedures to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

Candy Bohmert TAC Chair

Katrina Marshall TCC Chair



William Taylor TAC Vice-Chair

Kate Allen TCC Vice-Chair

Transportation Planning Division – Chris Connolly provided an update to the Craven County CTP, which is delayed for now due to COVID-19, and reiterated the update that Diane Hampton gave concerning the Carteret County CTP and its TDM development.

7. Transportation Associations and Facilities Reports

Public Transit Update – Kelly Walker (CARTS) and Randy Cantor (CCATS) provided updates to the TCC on current operations at their agencies. Kelly Walker stated that the Craven County Board of Commissioners approved the elimination of fares on CARTS through the end of the fiscal year on June 30.

8. ACTION: Update to TCC By-Laws

B.J. Eversole presented an update to the TCC by-laws, a copy of which was provided to attendees in their agenda packet. The update was long overdue, as there has not been an update to the by-laws in 17 years. The update primarily redefined TCC voting seats based on the creation of the New Bern Area MPO and expansion of the Jacksonville Urban Area MPO, as well as improving language throughout for clarity. A motion was made by Franky Howard to approve the update to the DERPO TCC by-laws, was seconded by Diane Miller, and was passed unanimously.

- **9. Other Business** *Kim Maxey of the New Bern Area MPO made an announcement* .
- **10. Adjournment** A motion to adjourn was made by Franky Howard and seconded by David Rief; the motion was approved unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 11:02am.