William Taylor TAC Chair

Don Baumgardner TCC Chair



Brandi Robertson TAC Vice-Chair

Beth Bucksot TCC Vice-Chair

Down East Rural Planning Organization

DERPO TCC Regular Meeting, July 18th, 2023; 10:00am

Attendance:

Don Baumgardner, Chair – Craven County Sandi Watkins – Town of Morehead City Katrina Marshall – City of Havelock Jack Veit – Craven County William Shanahan – Town of Newport Patrick Flanagan - CCATS Diane Miller – Town of Oriental Janie Mason – Michael J. Smith Airport Cat Peele – NCDOT Ferry Division Shawne Southard – Town of Bogue Chad Strawn – Craven County Becca Eversole – Eastern Carolina Council Amanda Killian – NCDOT TPD Kelly Walker - CARTS John Bender – Jones County Julie Shambaugh – Town of Cape Carteret Terry Arellano – NCDOT Beth Bucksot – Vice-Chair, Pamlico County David Rief – Town of Cedar Point Jeff Wood – Craven County Schumata Brown – Town of Maysville

Minutes for TCC

Call to Order – Don Baumgardner, Chair TCC opened the meeting at 10:05pm.

1. Public Comment Period – no public comments.

2. ACTION: Approval of Agenda

The agenda for today's meeting was presented for approval. A motion to approve the agenda was made by Jack Veit, seconded by Patrick Flanagan, and approved unanimously.

5. **DERPO Staff Report** – Becca Eversole

a. Grant Wins – Ms. Eversole went over grant awards for a regional bicycle and pedestrian plan for Cape Carteret, Cedar Point, Peletier, and Bogue, as well as a Carbon Reduction Program grant award to Atlantic Beach for a \$500k sidewalk project along NC 58.

b. Other DERPO Updates – The ECC will be hosting a Regional Transportation Summit in the fall, she will be attending the NCARPO Quarterly Meeting in Boone later this week, and DERPO will be hosting the NCARPO Quarterly Meeting in Atlantic Beach on October 28-29. Ms. Eversole also shared tentative TCC meeting dates for the remainder of 2023.

5. NCDOT/Transportation Agency Reports

a. Division 2 – Len White of NCDOT Division 2 was not in attendance at the meeting, so Ms. Eversole referred attendees to the construction update in their packet.
b. Transportation Planning Division – Amanda Killian of NCDOT TPD, introduced herself, spoke of Craven County CTP's adoption earlier that year, and that though there had been delays in the Carteret County CTP, a steering committee meeting would be scheduled soon. 439 total participants in the Carteret County survey, which was being analyzed by TPD.

- c. Public Transit/Aviation
 - *i.* CARTS (Craven, Jones, Pamlico) Kelly Walker spoke about the ribbon cutting of their new facility. Ridership has increased overall above the previous year.
 - *ii.* CCATS (Carteret) Update *Patrick Flanagan spoke about their ridership approaching pre-COVID levels. CCATS received a grant to transport prisoners to employment, and Mr. Flanagan made an appeal to NCDOT staff to make this an annual grant.*
 - *iii.* Michael J. Smith Airport Jamie Mason spoke about the airport's purchasing land to extend their runway to 6,000 ft. Hangers are at a premium, with a long waiting list. The airport hopes to soon construct new hangars on site. There will also be a rehabilitation of existing runway 321 rehab project, hopefully in the fall. A total of 154 aircraft used the airport during the Blue Rock Marlin Tournament.

6. **PRESENTATION: SPOT 7.0 Holding Tank** – Becca Eversole

Ms. Eversole started her presentation by explaining what a "holding tank" project is: a project submitted in a previous SPOT round that was not selected for funding. As P6 was cancelled, all submittals from that round are "holding tank" projects, though two had already been submitted as "carryover projects", i.e. projects that do not count to DERPO's 19 submittal slots. She then went into detail on each highway project, giving the previous score and estimated cost, then presented what the maximum available points would be for the project at the regional or division level. She gave advice to the committee on what projects would or would not be viable in her opinion. She then solicited members for a SPOT subcommittee for Craven, Pamlico, and Jones Counties: Diane Miller, Chad Strawn, John Bender, and Patrick Flanagan volunteered to be on the subcommittee for the TCC. Mr. Flanagan asked Ms. Eversole about any improvements that may have been made to scoring in SPOT Online, to which she replied that there hadn't been she had noticed, and he then noted the need for interchanges at many of the proposed projects to keep up with traffic demand.

- 9. Other Business/Discussion There was no further business or discussion.
- **10.** Adjournment Mr. Baumgartner adjourned the meeting at 10:50.