ECC hires new Executive Director

The Eastern Carolina Council of Governments (ECC) Board of Directors takes great pleasure in announcing the appointment of David Bone as Executive Director, effective Monday, May 16, 2022.

Mr. Bone brings extensive local government experience after service as County Manager in Davie and Martin Counties and as Town Manager in Wendell, Elizabethtown, and Chadbourn, NC.  Mr. Bone received recognition for his service on two occasions as City/County Manager of the Year from two different Councils of Government.  His current and previous professional activities include leadership roles on the NC 911 Board, the Martin County Regional Water and Sewer Authority and the Highway 17/64 Association.

“We are excited to welcome David to the ECC,” said Jay Bender, President of ECC.  “His experience in county and city government in NC will be a tremendous asset to our organization.”

“I am thrilled to have this opportunity! I look forward to assisting the local governments in eastern NC and working with the elected officials and staffs of the communities in the nine-county area to facilitate regional partnership, collaboration, and solutions,” said David Bone.

Bone holds a Master’s Degree in Public Administration from North Carolina Central University, and a B.A. from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill.  Additionally, he completed leadership continuing education through the UNC School of Government, the NC Rural Center and the International City/County Managers Association (ICMA).  He earned his Credentialed Manager designation from ICMA, where his membership still resides, along with membership in the North Carolina City/County Managers Association.

The Eastern Carolina Council (ECC) is one of sixteen multi-county planning and development regions in the State, with offices located in New Bern, NC.   Governed by local public officials, ECC provides a forum where local officials determine regional priorities and work towards collaborative solutions.  ECC includes a land mass of 5,710 square miles and serves a population of over 645,000 in the region’s nine counties (Carteret, Craven, Duplin, Greene, Jones, Lenoir, Onslow, Pamlico, and Wayne).


Scroll to Top